RoboCop Is Joining Mortal Kombat 11 As Part of NetherRealm Studios’s New Story Expansion, “Aftermath”

The FPS Review may receive a commission if you purchase something after clicking a link in this article.

Image: NetherRealm Studios

Who would win in a fight between RoboCop and The Terminator? Mortal Kombat 11 fans will be able to find out with the release of NetherRealm Studios’s all-new cinematic narrative, “Aftermath,” which brings the half man, half machine – but all cop – into its roster (Arnold Schwarzenegger’s T-800 was added in a previous DLC pack). Alex Murphy will be joined by two additional characters, Fujin and Sheeva, increasing the total character count to 34.

“The epic saga continues in Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath, as Fire God Liu Kang, the new keeper of time and protector of Earthrealm, must now enlist the help of unlikely allies and familiar foes to forge a new history as the fate of two worlds hang in the balance,” wrote Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment. “Adding to the growing roster of playable fighters, the new expansion features the triumphant return of Fujin, the God of Wind who serves as Earthrealm’s protector alongside his brother Raiden, and Sheeva, the four-armed, half-human and half-dragon queen of the ancient Shokan race.”

“RoboCop, the iconic, highly advanced cybernetic police officer will make his first appearance in the franchise, continuing the pedigree of popular Mortal Kombat guest fighters. RoboCop in Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath features the voice and likeness of actor Peter Weller, who portrayed the popular character in both the original “RoboCop” (1987) film and “RoboCop 2” (1990) sequel. Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath will also include three new character skin packs to be released over time.”

Those who preorder Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath will get an Eternal Klash Skin Pack, which comprises new skins for Scorpion, Sub-Zero, and Frost. Additionally, all MK11 owners will get a free content update that adds new stages to the game (i.e., Dead Pool, Soul Chamber), as well as classic stage and “friendship” fatalities from the earlier ’90s MK games. Kill’em with kindness, they say.

Image: NetherRealm Studios

“Our fans have really enjoyed the story campaign in Mortal Kombat, and we’re happy to continue the narrative and add new characters to the roster with Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath,” said Ed Boon, Creative Director, NetherRealm Studios. “In addition, Friendships and Stage Fatalities are being added as part of the free content update for all Mortal Kombat 11 players. Both are fan-favourite features that we’re excited to finally bring back to the franchise.”

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath will be released on May 26th. The MK11: Aftermath Kollection, which comprises Mortal Kombat 11, Mortal Kombat 11 Kombat Pack, and Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath, can be preordered on Steam now for $59.99.

Tsing Mui
News poster at The FPS Review.

Recent News