Google Maps Is Rolling Out Speed Limit and Speed Camera Features

The FPS Review may receive a commission if you purchase something after clicking a link in this article.

Google Maps has fully embraced two of Waze’s most popular features: displaying speed limits and speed cameras. Certain markets have enjoyed these features since January, but they are now rolling out to more than 40 countries.

Google confirmed with TechCrunch the full list of supported countries now seeing the speed cameras, which currently includes: Australia, Brazil, U.S., Canada, U.K., India, Mexico, Russia, Japan, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, and Zimbabwe.

Both Android and iOS versions of Google Maps will display speed limits and speed cameras. Only Android users will be able to report the location of cameras, however.

The rollout is taking place on both Android and iOS. But Android users will additionally be able to report mobile speed cameras and stationary cameras, while both iOS and Android users will be able to see those updates during their drive. The speed limit appears in the bottom corner of the app, while speed traps show up as icons on the roads themselves.


Tsing Mui
News poster at The FPS Review.

Recent News