Facebook App Users Upset Over Bug That Activated Their Cameras Without Consent

Facebook is in the news again for another privacy-related hiccup. As initially disclosed by Twitter user Neo QA, the social network’s official app would apparently activate users’ cameras while they were browsing the social network. This can be proven by changing a video to full-screen view and then returning it to a window, which reveals the camera feed in the background on the very left.

Facebook’s reputation on privacy is so worrying that many people still believe the social network is secretly recording people through their microphones. The camera bug won’t do the company any favors in dispelling that myth. While Facebook’s app users do give the company permission to use their camera and microphone, there’s no reason it needs to be activated while a person is simply scrolling through the feed or watching a video.

Discussion

Recent News