Borderlands Game of the Year Edition
Image Credit: 2K Games

Classic game remasters look to be having a good year in 2020. With all the recent news about the upcoming Crysis Remastered coming there is another from that era worth noting. Borderlands came out in 2009 and it had a remastered version arrive in 2019. This innovative take on the shoot and loot genre quickly gained a fan base with its original release. The GOTY edition upped the ante with upgrading the graphics to 4K and, of course, including all the DLC. Now people can either replay or venture in these wastelands for the first time for free. This free to play offer is on Steam for a limited time until April 23rd.

Borderlands: Game of the Year Edition is now available to play for free for a limited time* on both Steam and Xbox One. This enhanced Ultra HD remaster of the original shooter-looter includes all four of the DLC add-ons, so in addition to the main campaign you can play through The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned, Mad Moxxi’s Underdome Riot, The Secret Armory of General Knoxx, and Claptrap’s New Robot Revolution.

Players who purchase the game will have their progress transferred over to the bought version. Steam also has the game on sale right now with a 67% discount. This brings the price down to $9.90. The latest installment, Borderlands 3, became available on Steam back in March. A live action movie is now in the works for Borderlands as well.

Don’t Miss Out on More FPS Review Content!

Our weekly newsletter includes a recap of our reviews and a run down of the most popular tech news that we published.

Peter Brosdahl

As a child of the 70’s I was part of the many who became enthralled by the video arcade invasion of the 1980’s. Saving money from various odd jobs I purchased my first computer from a friend of my...

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. Hey Peter,

    This is a limited time “free to play” event. After the event is over you have to buy it to keep playing. And it doesn’t even start for PC/Steam until 4/23.

    Honestly I feel this is kind of meh, the game should be a free giveaway by this point, it’s 11 years old.

    Steam: April 23 – 9:59 AM PDT / 12:59 PM PDT / 5:59 PM BST, April 24 – 12:59 AM GMT+8 / 2:59 AM AEST

    Xbox One: April 22 – 11:59 PM PDT, April 23 – 2:59 AM EDT / 7:59 AM BST / 2:59 PM GMT+8 / 4:59 PM AEST

Leave a comment